Dylan Gilliland bowling for Blackbutt in last season’s B Grade Grand Final

October 8, 2019

Round 1 of the South Burnett’s new-look senior cricket competition will get under way this Saturday.

There will be nine teams playing in the 2019-20 Telstra Shield draw.

Devils – who last year played in the Gympie competition – will be back playing in the South Burnett.

They will be joined by Blackbutt, Cherbourg, Murgon, Wondai, Kallindale (Warriors), Kumbia, Nanango and Kingaroy Services.

All teams will play each other in the same grade until the end of the fixtures rounds (Round 18).

The top five teams on the ladder will then contest the A Grade finals, while the bottom four teams will play off in the B Grade finals.

The Grand Final of the B Grade competition will be played on March 14.

The Grand Final of the A Grade competition will be a week later, on March 21.

* * *

Round 1

  • Devils v Blackbutt at Lyle Vidler Oval in Kingaroy
  • Wondai v Kallindale at Wondai Soccer Fields
  • Kumbia v Cherbourg at Kumbia
  • Nanango v Services at Nanango Sportsgrounds

All games will start at 12:30pm.

* * *

Murgon Crusaders, who were grand finalists in last year’s Gympie competition, have elected to play in that competition again this year.

Round 1 was played on September 21 at Murgon against Harlequins, with the visitors drawing first blood for the season.

Since then, Murgon has defeated Gympie Colts and Kenilworth.

They will be taking on Gympie Valleys at Murgon Sportsground in Round 4 from 12:30pm this Saturday.


Tarong Community Partnership Fund - click here
Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.