Member for Nananago Deb Frecklington - click here
What's On In The South Burnett Today?

Another Big Eisteddfod Winds Up

Filed under Arts News, Breaking News, Front3, Latest News

Kingaroy Eisteddfod Committee vice-president Joan Schloss … almost two weeks of competition are now over

May 13, 2019

The organisers and volunteers at Kingaroy’s annual Eisteddfod were smiling on Thursday after another big year of competitions drew to a close.

Committee vice-president Joan Schloss said there had been “two weeks minus one day” of performances at the Kingaroy Performing Arts Centre and Kingaroy Town Hall.

This adds up to a total of at at least 1500 children (and quite a few adults) on stage, either as solo performers or part of large school groups.

Competitors came from as far away as Mackay, Gympie, the Sunshine Coast and Dalby.

However, organisers were particularly pleased with the number and quality of entries from the South Burnett.

There were plenty of nerves – and some tears – from the young performers before performances, and lots of smiles afterwards.

(Scroll down for full results)

The team from St Joseph’s Primary School at Murgon came first in the Choral Speaking section
(Photo: Joan Schloss)

Kingaroy Eisteddfod committee members and volunteers were smiling on Thursday as the last competitions were coming to an end … among the team, above, are vice-president Jan Schloss, secretary Lois Blanch, Cr Ros Heit and speech and drama adjudicator Ros McIvor, from Toowoomba

* * *



Joyce McKechnie Family Trophy
(South Burnett student with five highest aggregate – instrumental, vocal & keyboard):

  • Melody Pink

Eric & Joan Schloss Shield – Primary School Choir:

  • Taabinga State School Senior Choir

Swickers – Primary School Junior Choir:

  • Taabinga State School

Woodleigh & Joan Yappa Shield – Secondary School Choir:

  • Saint Mary’s Secondary School Senior Choir

Kingaroy RSL Shield – Open Choir:

  • South Burnett Chorale

Barry & Ruth Lonsdale Shield – High School Band:

  • Kingaroy State High School Symphonic Band

Saint John’s Lutheran Shield: Middle School Shield:

  • Saint John’s Lutheran School Concert Band

Hansens Kitchen Shield – Primary School Band:

  • Dalby State School Contemporary Band

Ken Mills Machinery Shield – Open Band:

  • Murgon State School

Quentin & Vaughan Fleischer Trophy – 15-18 Years Woodwind & Brass:

  • Abbie Moseling

Taabinga Homestead Trophy – Open Vocal Championship:

  • Julie-Ann Bell

Josie Champney Family Trophy – Junior Vocal Championship:

  • Melody Pink

Ann Butwell Trophy – Senior Vocal Championship

  • Jacob Slatter

Kingaroy Lions Club Inc Trophy – Vocal Duo Trio:

  • Julie-Ann Bell & Jane Iszlaub

Kingaroy RSL Trophy – Piano Championship – Advanced:

  • Isabella Macri

Heather Obel Trophy – Piano Championship – Intermediate:

  • Charlotte Landherr

Murgon Lions Club Inc – Piano Championship – Elementary:

  • Thomas Town

Greenacres Trophy – Advanced Piano Sight Reading & Quick Study:

  • Isabella Macri

Hahn Family Trophy – Intermediate Piano Sight Reading & Quick Study:

  • Amelia Lonsdale

Go Getta Girls Trophy – Elementary Piano Sight Reading & Quick Study:

  • Ryan Mollenhauer

Kingaroy Lions Club Inc Trophy – Piano Duet/Trio:

  • Isabella Macri, Ellouise Hansen & Selina Hansen

QCWA Trophy – Instrumental Championships – Intermediate:

  • Abbie Moseling

June Kimlin Trophy – Instrumental Championship – Elementary:

  • Amelia Lonsdale

KM Pools – Instrumental 10-Day Study & Sight Reading:

  • Jessica Town

Kingaroy Holiday Park Trophy – Instrumental Duet/Trio/Quartet:

  • Clare Baldwin, Ethan Keenan & Allison Baldwin

tied with

  • Abbie Moseling & Charlotte Landherr

Kingaroy Senior Citizens Club Inc Encouragement Awards:

  • Vocal: Aaron Zammataro
  • Piano: Jemma Pukallus
  • Instrumental: Shayla Cridge

* * *

Speech & Drama

Judy Fearnley Trophy For Impromptu Performance:

  • Dylan Itzstein

Judy Fearnley Trophy For Prose Performance:

  • Rod Morgan

Kingaroy Eisteddfod Book Award 2019:

  • Dylan Itzstein

Judy Fearnley Junior Championship:

  • Dylan Itzstein

Judy Fearnley Junior Story Telling Championship:

  • Dylan Itzstein

Judy Fearnley Open Story Telling:

  • Rod Morgan

Judy Fearnley Encouragement Awards:

  • Junior: Maddison Searle
  • Senior: Shannon Hartley

* * *


Wondai Lowes Petroleum Highest Scoring Soloist:

  • Georgia Wall

Most Improved Dancer:

  • Georgia Jess

Joan Winter Memorial Trophy For Most Promising South Burnett Dancer:

  • Kinzie Campbell

Highest Scoring Junior Group:

  • The Dance Centre, Peregian Springs

Highest Scoring Senior Group:

  • The Dance Centre, Peregian Springs

Junior Tap Championship:

  • Madeleine Trueman
  • Runners-up – Annie Stanton & Ruby Althaus

Junior Jazz Championship:

  • Freya Goldston
  • Runner-up – Sienna Pollach

Junior Ballet Championship:

  • Freya Goldston
  • Runner-up – Madeleine Truemann

Dance Encouragement Awards – Junior

  • Tap: Billy-Kate Stead
  • Jazz: Mollie Oram
  • Ballet: Lilly Burke
  • Neoclassical: Ebony Wilson
  • Contemporary: Bayli Cridge

Elementary Ballet Championship:

  • Bonnie Quinn-Hennessy
  • Runners-up – Emiliana Wood & Evie Wilson

Elementary Jazz Championship:

  • Dylan Itzstein
  • Runners-up – Anastasia Wright & Morgan McDonald

Elementary Tap Championship:

  • Dylan Itzstein
  • Runner-up – Amy Neuendorff

Intermediate Jazz Championship:

  • Emily Maloney
  • Runner-up – Kiera Gutt

Intermediate Ballet Championship:

  • Taliah Collins
  • Runner-up – Lillian McCarthy-Cole

Senior Jazz Championship:

  • Georgia Wall
  • Runner-up – Emma Celledoni

Senior Ballet Championship:

  • Hayley Stephens
  • Runner-up – Emma Celledoni

Highest Scoring Duo/Trio – Senior Encouragement Awards:

  • Mikaela Smith, Caitlin Cormack & Kayla Thomas

Senior Encouragement Awards:

  • Ballet: Nea McLean
  • Tap: Keeley Schloss
  • Jazz: Hugh Wyvill
  • Neoclassical: Maya Middlebrook


Huskys Burgers Kingaroy - click hereAndersson for Mayor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *