Australian champion Kevin Britten dominated in the Dirt Modifieds, taking out two of the heats as well as the final

November 18, 2018

Last weekend’s racing at the Kingaroy Speedway attracted national and State champions to battle it out in five categories of dirt track racing.

The highlight of the night was the exciting 20-lap final deciding the Peanut Cup in V8 Dirt Modifieds.

Australian champion Kevin Britten, from Brisbane, and NSW driver Ray Eggins battled it out for the first half of the race with Britten hugging the wall up high and Eggins taking the shortest way around down low.

However, Britten scampered away when Eggins got caught up with a back marker.

Eggins then fought off third placegetter, Queensland driver Klinton Hancey, who also took the high route around the track.

Local driver Brett Barron clocked up some fast times in the heats of the Modifieds, including the second fastest time on the night in Heat 1.

Ipswich teenager Casey O’Connell was the fastest Junior on the night, winning the A-Main and recording the fastest lap time in Heat 3.

The next event at the Kingaroy Speedway will be the Christmas Shootout on December 8 featuring V8 Super Sedans, Wingless Sprints, Modified Sedans and the Queensland title for Lightning Sprints.

NSW driver Ray Eggins challenged Kevin Britten in the A-Main of the Dirt Modifieds

* * *

A-Main Results

Robert Trapp gets tangled up with Travis Hutchison in Heat 4 of the Street Stocks, which was being raced in the reverse direction

V8 Dirt Modifieds

  1. A1 – Kevin Britten
  2. N23 – Ray Eggins
  3. Q44 – Klinton Hancey

Modified Sedans

  1. BB81 – Dennis Shallcross
  2. CR32 – Nathan MacDonald
  3. SB54 – Michael Shelford

Street Stocks

  1. C99 – Peter Thompson
  2. CR23 – Robert Trapp
  3. SB88 – Nathan Barbeler

Production Sedans

  1. M9 – Joel Berkley
  2. G10 – Daniel Henshaw
  3. SB32 – Brody Fraser

Junior Sedans

  1. B48 – Casey O’Connell
  2. SC8 – Dakota Laverty
  3. CR8 – Mitchell Pammenter

Compact Speedcars

  1. Q12 – Darren Vine
  2. Q41 – Emma Harris
  3. Q8 – Dave Swan
Joel Berkley and Brayden Pacey dice in an early heat of the Production Sedans … Berkley went on to win the Production Sedans final
Nathan Barbeler won Heats 3 and 6 in the Street Stocks and came third in the final
Junior Dane Andersson won Heats 1, 2 and 3 of the Junior Sedans (New Stars) but unfortunately was forced to pull out after five laps in the final
Kingaroy driver Brett Barron recorded the fastest Modifieds lap on the night

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables
Stanwell Public Notice - click here


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.