Ben Phipps, Kingaroy; Matty Parton, Toowoomba; and Chad Phipps, Kingaroy, were looking forward to riding later in the night

October 18, 2017

One of the highlights of the recent South Burnett and Cherbourg On Show long weekend was the action-packed Cooyar Rodeo, held at the rear of the Cooyar Hotel.

The rodeo is a full National Rodeo Association event with points accruing for the NRA championship.

The red hot favourite on the night was Cooyar’s favourite rodeo son, Jack McArthur, who has been having a top season in the bull ride.

McArthur raised the highest bid in the calcutta before the competition started, but sadly ended up out of a place.

Kenny Hilan took home the glory, $1488 in prize money and 74 championship points.

Seats lined the specially built ring at the rear of the hotel, and they were packed with spectators.

It was almost impossible to get a parking spot in the small town, with vehicles parked up and down the main street, in Swinging Bridge Park and across the Back Creek bridge in McDougall Street.

When arrived, 441 people had already come through the gate (they were counting) and there were more people arriving.

As well as all the rodeo action, there was live music on a temporary stage from 8:30pm until late.

A calcutta was held before the main bullrides began ... Cooyar champion Jack McArthur - who is holding down the number one spot in the NRA's bull ride standings - raised the top amount, $310, but it didn't prove to be his night in the ring
Amanda Riddle, from Dalby, and John Hayward, from Felton South
Carissa Reinke and Steve Little,
both from Esk
Garrett Kleinert in action during the U12 Poddy Ride ... Garrett just missed out on a place
Brandon Wenham competing in the Open Bull Ride
More action from the Open Bull Ride ...
... now that I've shaken that pesky cowboy off my back, I'm going after these two clowns ...

* * *


Open Bull Ride
1. Kenny Hilan
2. Joshua Jones

Bareback Ride
1. Matty Makinson
2. Dinny Moran
3. Bevan Brown
4. Jim Ward

Novice Bull Ride
1. Lachlan Deane

U18 Junior Bull Ride
1. Lachlan Dark
2. Ty Thomson
3. Zac McCarthy

U12 Poddy Ride
Equal 1. Jacob Taylor
Equal 1. Wesley McDonald
3. Rawley McWhirter
4. Jacob Day