Member for Nanango Deb Frecklington with Kingaroy Station Officer Bruce Groer and Chief Superintendent David Tucker (Photo: Nanango Electorate Office)

November 27, 2023

Member for Nanango Deb Frecklington was the special guest at Nanango Fire Station last Monday night to congratulate local firefighters on their efforts.

Kingaroy Station Officer Bruce Groer was presented with a medal marking 40 years service by Chief Superintendent David Tucker.

Nanango’s swift water rescue team – Josh Mangan, Geoff French, Fiona Schatkowski, Jade Street, James Webb, Brad Perrett, Matt Lucas, Shawn Ward and Thomas Mangan – were also presented with a commendation certificate for their efforts during the flash flooding in July 2022 in Nanango.

The team was involved in the search for a missing man, sadly later located deceased, as well as helping with the evacuation of a local caravan park.

“On behalf of the South Burnett community, I would like to congratulate Bruce Groer on achieving 40 years of service with the QFES,” Mrs Frecklington said.

“Bruce has been a stalwart of the South Burnett, working tirelessly to keep our community safe and ensuring the protection of life and property in our region.

“It was an honour to help present Bruce with his award for this significant milestone.

“I would also like to congratulate the Nanango team of Auxiliary Firefighters from the Nanango Urban Fire Station who were awarded the Commissioners Commendation Award for their role in the flash flooding event of 22 July 2022 in Nanango.

“Part of their work on the day included their swiftwater rescue team who recovered the body of a local man who tragically lost his life in these floodwaters on that day.”

Deb Frecklington and Geoff French with the award for Nanango’s swift water rescue team (Photo: Nanango Electorate Office)

Ros Heit for South Burnett Division 6
Vote 1 Kathy Duff for South Burnett Mayor


Vote 1 Jane Erkens for Division 1
Vote 1 Scott Hernschen for Division 6

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.