Wide Bay ... four Kingaroy State High School students were selected in this team

May 24, 2013

Kingaroy’s TJ O’Neill Oval hosted one of the biggest football crowds seen in Kingaroy for years on Thursday with the official kick off of the four-day 18yrs State Secondary Rugby League Carnival.

With Kingaroy State High School students lining the sidelines, and the school’s concert band providing musical entertainment, the atmosphere for the start of the big schoolboys carnival was electric.

Twelve teams are taking part from across Queensland.

The young players are the pick of schoolboy players and it’s guaranteed some will be the NRL stars of the near future.

In previous years players of the calibre of Allan Langer (1982), Darren Lockyer (1994), Steve Renouf (1986), Matt Ballin (2000), Sam Thaiday (2002), Greg Inglis (2004) and Chris Sandow (2005) have taken part in the competition.

South Burnett Mayor Wayne Kratzmann officially opened the carnival after a Welcome to Country ceremony by Cherbourg State School Deputy Principal Bevan Costello and didgeridoo player Lewis Langton.

Mayor Kratzmann welcomed the hundreds of visitors to the South Burnett.

“I am looking forward to seeing some of your names up in lights in coming years,” he said.

Six Kingaroy State High School’s Year 11 and 12 players are taking part in the carnival: Nathan Bowering, Marcus Jensen, Sam Johnston, Lane Ferling and Mason Francis are playing in the Wide Bay team; while Simon Fairbairn was nominated to play for North West.

Lehman Brunjes, from Murgon SHS, is also playing for North West.

The 2013 18yrs Queensland Team will be announced after the grand final on Sunday.

* * *

The Finals will be played on Sunday, May 26

  • 10:10am – For 5th & 6th
  • 11:20am – For 3rd & 4th
  • 12:30pm – For 1st & 2nd
  • 1:45pm – Presentations and Announcement of Queensland Team

 * * *

Off to a flying start ... the first game of the competition was between Wide Bay and Sunshine Coast ... the first try of this first game was scored by Marcus Jensen, from Kingaroy State High School
Kingaroy State High School's Simon Fairbairn turned out with the North West team
Lewis Langton played the didj during the official Welcome to Country ceremony
Wide Bay were dominant during the first half of their match going into halftime ahead 14-0; but after the break the Sunshine Coast's Deacon Fletcher took charge, scoring three tries and kicking two goals
Cr Barry Green and Cherbourg State School Deputy Principal Bevan Costello, who led the Welcome to Country ceremony
President of Qld Secondary Schools Rugby League Stephen Parle with South Burnett Mayor Wayne Kratzmann
Chris Bransdon (Qld School Sport), Phil Hall (Qld Secondary School Rugby League), Justin Lane (Wide Bay School Sport) and Kingaroy State High School principal David Ballin
Jayden Gil, Gideon Gela, Josiah Tau-Ave and Jubei Doi from the Peninsula team (from the Cairns area)
Garry Keppel, Bill Cullen and Kieran Duffin from Capricornia (Rockhampton, Mackay & Gladstone)
Kingaroy State School's Concert Band provided sideline entertainment in the lead-up to the official opening of the carnival

* * *

QSSRL 18 Years & Under Trophy

QSSRL 18 Years & Under State Championships


Game 1
SUNSHINE COAST 20 (Deacon Fletcher 3, Nathan Watts tries; Deacon Fletcher 2 goals) def WIDE BAY 14 (Marcus Jensen, Jarrod Crook, Emmanuel Kiddie tries; Hayden Herbert goal)
Sunshine Coast Man of the Match – Deacon Fletcher
Wide Bay Man of the Match – Jarrod Crook

Game 2
DARLING DOWNS 40 (Michael Pearson 2, Brodie Sharman, Joshua Robinson, Thomas Landers, Jack Stokes, Daniel Merker tries; Corey Langton 3 goals) def NORTH WEST 12 (Sam Collins, Lehman Brunjes tries; Puni Taia 2 goals)
Darling Downs Man of the Match – Darcy Maroske
North West Man of the Match – Dylan Jensen

Game 3
METROPOLITAN EAST 78 (Elijah Alick 2, Eugene Fiu 2, George Fai 2, Jordan Aione-Fatu, Mack Mason, Sigalu Iosefa-Collins, Peauafi Vakauta, Riva Pati, Matthew Richards, Michael Volkanovski, Justin Fiso tries; Eugene Fiu 2, Mack Mason 9 goals) def SOUTH WEST 6 (Justin Fai try; Troy Simpson goal)
Metropolitan East Man of the Match – Elijah Alick
South West Man of the Match – Angus Lee

Game 4
PENINSULA 42 (Jayden Gil 2, Jubei Doi 2, Daniel Tatipata, Tahanui Tutavake, Seamus McManus tries; Thomas Pearce 7 goals) def METROPOLITAN WEST 26 (Landon Hayes, Adrian Henley, Beau Broome, Ethan Page, Jameel Abdurhman tries; Adrian Henley 3 goals)
Peninsula Man of the Match – Jayden Gil
Metropolitan West Man of the Match – Junior Taefu

Game 5
SOUTH COAST 30 (Marion Seve 2, Samuel Swift, Daymeric Pelo, Luke Garner, Jamian Iroa tries; Guy Hamilton 3 goals) def CAPRICORNIA 16 (Samuel Smith 2, Nicholas Baker tries; Cooper Bambling 2 goals)
South Coast Man of the Match – Eden Syme
Capricornia Man of the Match – Samuel Smith

Game 6
METROPOLITAN NORTH 24 (Jacob Kelly, Jayden Nikorima, Sonny Munroe, Thomas Sly tries; Jayden Nikorima 4 goals) def NORTHERN 20 (Chevi Ellis, Brandon Smith, Ty Carucci, Kyle O’Brien tries; Jesse Pomare-Anderson 2 goals)
Metropolitan North Man of the Match – Jayden Nikorima
Northern Man of the Match – Michael Barclay

With nine minutes left in the game, Wide Bay were still ahead of the Sunshine Coast on the scoreboard; the final score was Wide Bay 14, Sunshine Coast 20

* * *

DAY 2 GAME TIMES – Friday, May 24:

9:00am Consolation Cup Wide Bay v North West
10:10am Consolation Cup Met West v South West
11:20am GAME A South Coast v Sunshine Coast
12:20pm GAME B Northern v Darling Downs
1:40pm GAME C Capricornia v Met East
2:50pm GAME D Met North V Peninsula
There'll be more exciting rugby league action from Queensland's best young players at TJ O'Neill Oval over the next three days

[UPDATED with additions]

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables