April 12, 2012

Pre-poll voting for the 2012 Local Government elections opens on Monday (April 16).

Voters in the South Burnett Regional Council area will be able to pre-poll vote at the Council offices in Blackbutt, Nanango, Kingaroy, Wondai and Murgon from 9:30am-4:30pm, Monday to Friday (closed Anzac Day, April 25).

On April 27, the eve of election day, the pre-poll voting offices will be open from 9:30am-6:00pm.

If you live in Division 2 (Blackbutt, Maidenwell, Bunya Mountains), Division 3 (Kingaroy, south of Haly Street) or Division 5 (Murgon) you DON’T have to vote. This is because there is only one person standing in each of these divisions so they will be elected unopposed.

However voters in Division 1 (four candidates), Division 4 (two candidates) and Division 6 (two candidates) MUST vote. Voting is compulsory.

To check out what Division you live in, see this handy interactive map on the ECQ website.

Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables