What's On In The South Burnett Today?

LNP Seeks Nominations

Filed under Breaking News, Latest News

ALP Member for Blair Shayne Neumann

March 13, 2018

The LNP is calling for nominations from party members to contest the seat of Blair at the next Federal Election.

Blair, which is based around Ipswich and the Somerset region to Mount Stanley, is currently held by Labor MP Shayne Neumann.

The electorate has had a chequered recent history.

Mr Neumann won the seat at the 2007 election over sitting Liberal Party MP Cameron Thompson after a re-distribution removed parts of the South Burnett, including Kingaroy and Nanango, from the electorate.

Mr Thompson famously was elected in 1998 despite coming third in first-preference votes.

One Nation leader Pauline Hanson easily led the count with 36 per cent of first preference votes, however Nationals’ preferences moved Mr Thompson into second spot, and then Labor Party preferences pushed him over the line to defeat Ms Hanson.

Mr Neumann was re-elected at the 2010, 2013 and 2016 polls.

Footnote: The electorate of Blair is named after Australian tenor Harold Blair who was born at Cherbourg in 1924.

Cid Burke Scholarship - click here
Anderssons Fruit Market for quality fruits and vegetables

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *